another penandpapermama site

not a sign of life?

March 14, 2010

So, after committing myself to my new path in life (read my last blog entry!), I grabbed my “antique” camera (read non-digital!) to use up the film I’ve had in it for a long time… and I put my journal in my bag… and went out walkabout in the lovely spring sunshine.  Stopped for a little visit with my precious grandson…

And here I am sitting in the corner at Timmy’s, drinking my French Vanilla coffee so I can “roll up the rim to win!” LOL!  There are seven people at the next table (mostly in their seventies or so), and none of their rims won anything.  As one of the guys told the waitress, “We’re all losers!”  Anyway, I figure that since they were right ahead of me in the line, my cup should be a winner!  Anyway…

While I as walking home after street church I walked by several churches… and they were all surrounded by mostly fairly nice vehicles… and not a person in sight, not a sound escaping from the buildings… so quiet!

(I did see one guy sitting in his van drinking coffee… but it was packed with stuff…  maybe he was just borrowing their parking lot space? Or??)  Strange… kind of like those futuristic movies with no people… or like that series on the Discovery Channel that talks about what might happen if all humans suddenly died or disappeared.  The first few hours/days when all the signs of human habitation were still there – but no humans…  there weren’t even any animals/pets in sight, for that matter!

Anyway, I felt lonely walking by those churches.   Of course I know that I could just go in there and be welcomed (though I’m not so sure about my granny cart and/or backpack, and my blue jeans and wind-blown messy hair… especially if I wanted to take my cart into their sanctuary with me), but I’m wondering, what do “non-churched” people think when they walk by those beautiful big buildings surrounded by so many cars – and not a person in sight?  “Not a sign of life!”

Wouldn’t it be something if some of those church folks just stood around outside, on/by the public sidewalk, even during the “service,”  and greeted and chatted with people passing by, maybe handed out coffee.

Leave a Reply

